Program Areas
Quick Reference
Response to December 9, 2013, CAA Section 176A Petition From CT, DE, MD, MA, NH, NY, PA, RI and VT (Final)
Nov. 3, 2017
EPA is denying a Clean Air Act (CAA) petition filed on 9 December 2013, by the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont. The petition requested that the EPA expand the Ozone Transport Region (OTR) by adding the states of Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, North Carolina, Ohio, Tennessee, West Virginia and the areas of Virginia not already in the OTR in order to address the interstate transport of air pollution with respect to the 2008 ozone national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS). As a result of this denial, the geographic scope and requirements of the OTR will remain unchanged. However, the EPA and states will continue to implement programs to address interstate transport of ozone pollution with respect to the 2008 ozone. This final action is effective on 3 November 2017. POC is Ms. Gobeail McKinley, U.S. EPA, Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, Air Quality Policy Division, Mail code C539-01, Research Triangle Park, NC 27711, tel 919-541-5246; email at mckinley.gobeail@epa.gov (Federal Register; 3 November 2017 [Notices], pages 51238-51250).

Item Attachments
There are no attachments.
Related Items
There are no related items.

Last Updated: January 22, 2018