EPA Regional Programs


Apr. 24, 2009
DoD Announces Winners Of The Secretary Of Defense Environmental Awards
On April 15, 2009, the Department of Defense announced the winners of the 2009 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards.
A panel of judges representing federal and state agencies, academia, and the public has selected the following installations, teams, and individuals as the winners of this year's awards:
Camp Ripley Maneuver and Training Center, Minnesota Army National Guard
Natural Resources Conservation – Large Installation
Vandenberg Air Force Base, Calif.
Cultural Resources Management – Installation
Fort Drum Cultural Resources Team, Fort Drum, N.Y.
Cultural Resources Management – Team/Individual
Environmental Management Division, Hill Air Force Base, Utah
Environmental Quality – Industrial Installation
U.S. Army Garrison Bamberg, Germany
Environmental Quality – Overseas Installation
Naval Air Station Whidbey Island, Wash.
Pollution Prevention – Non-Industrial Installation
14 Civil Engineer Squadron Pollution Prevention Team, Columbus Air Force Base, Miss.
Pollution Prevention – Team/Individual
Defense Depot Memphis, Tenn.
Environmental Restoration – Installation
            Each year since 1962, the secretary of defense has honored individuals, teams, and installations for their outstanding achievements to conserve and sustain the natural and cultural resources entrusted to the Department of Defense. The under secretary of defense for acquisition, technology and logistics will officiate at the ceremony honoring the winners on June 3, 2009, at 3 p.m. EDT in the Pentagon Auditorium. For more information on the Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards and highlights of this year's winners and honorable mentions, please visit:

Item Attachments
There are no attachments.
Related Items
There are no related items.

Last Updated: July 16, 2014