EPA Regional Programs


Apr. 21, 2017
DoD Announces Winners of the 2017 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards
The Department of Defense (DoD) has announced the winners of the 2017 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards. Each year since 1962, the Secretary of Defense has recognized individuals, teams, and installations for their outstanding achievements and innovative work protecting the environment while sustaining mission readiness. Military Services and Defense Agencies may submit one nomination for each of the nine award categories. A diverse panel of judges representing Federal and state agencies, academia, and the private sector select the winners.

The nine winners chosen from the 30 nominations are:

  • Natural Resources Conservation, Large Installation:  Camp Ripley, Minnesota Army National Guard
  • Environmental Quality, Industrial Installation:  Marine Corps Logistics Base Barstow, California
  • Environmental Quality, Overseas Installation:  U.S. Army Garrison Bavaria, Germany
  • Sustainability, Non-Industrial Installation:  Eglin Air Force Base, Florida
  • Sustainability, Individual/Team:  Mr. Jeffery D. Schone, Luke Air Force Base, Arizona
  • Environmental Restoration, Installation:  Travis Air Force Base, California
  • Cultural Resources Management, Small Installation:  Commander, Fleet Activities, Yokosuka, Japan
  • Cultural Resources Management, Individual/Team:  Cultural Resources Management Team, Alabama Army National Guard
  • Environmental Excellence in Weapon System Acquisition, Small Program:  Chromium-Free Wash Primer Replacement Team, U.S. Army Research Laboratory, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland

The full press release is available here.

For more information on the 2017 winners and honorable mentions, please visit the Awards website.

Item Attachments
There are no attachments.
Related Items
There are no related items.

Last Updated: July 16, 2014