Program Areas
Quick Reference
Critical Habitat for the Threatened Caribbean Corals (Final)
Aug. 9, 2023
NMFS designated critical habitat for five threatened Caribbean coral species, Orbicella annularis, O. faveolata, O. franksi, Dendrogyra cylindrus, and Mycetophyllia ferox, pursuant to section 4 of the ESA. Twenty-eight mostly overlapping specific occupied areas containing physical features essential to the conservation of these coral species are designated as critical habitat. These areas contain approximately 16,830 square kilometers (km2; 6,500 square miles (mi2)) of marine habitat. They have considered economic, national security, and other relevant impacts of designating these areas as critical habitat, and we exclude one area from the designations due to anticipated impacts on national security. This rule becomes effective 8 September 2023. POC is Jennifer Moore, NMFS, SERO, 727–824–5312, Jennifer.Moore@noaa.gov. (Federal Register 9 August 2023 [Rule] Pages 54026-54083)

Item Attachments
There are no attachments.
Related Items
There are no related items.

Last Updated: January 22, 2018